Pedersen-McCormick Boys & Girls Club

4835 N. Sheridan Road, Chicago, IL 60640

Peter A. Hess Scholars Announced

July 3, 2013 03:18 PM
2012 & 2013 McCormick Club Youths of the Year Sandra and Lucy
Congratulations to Pedersen-McCormick Club's 2012 Youth of the Year Lucy Onoh and 2013 Youth of the Year Sandra Ansong for being selected as the new Peter A. Hess Scholarship recipients.  The girls will receive $16,000 each toward their collegiate studies. 
The Peter A. Hess Community Service Scholarship Award was created in memory of Peter Allen Hess, who was an alumnus and longtime board member of the Club.  As a young member of the Club, Peter was a recipient of a college scholarship.  He consistently demonstrated the values and responsibility so often stressed at the Club, and he remained committed to helping others.  Hence, the Peter A. Hess Scholarship is given annually to the Club member who demonstrates Peter's sense of commitment to the community, his spirit of giving, and his belief in creating opportunities for others.
Lucy Onoh will attend Illinois State University in the fall and plans to major in exercise science.  Sandra Ansong will attend Northern Illinois University in the fall and plans to major in nursing.